A Truly Grateful Son

In addition to being a thankful dad, I am a truly grateful son.

Now there were no blogs back in the days of my youth (no kidding!).  As a matter of fact, there were not many electronic communication devices of any kind.   I also never remember stumbling onto a notepad with my Dad’s handwriting of how thankful he was to be a dad…not even before my little brother was born.  Ha ha!  Hmm, this childhood reminiscence is going downhill for me really fast!

However, I have later in life gained assurance that he is (and probably was back in those days) quite thankful for his boys, just as I am for mine.  My brother and I got the privilege of turning his hair from red to white, and even causing some of it to turn loose!  I guess we weren’t too awfully hard on him though.  By the grace of God, he has survived into the 21st Century with nearly all his nerves!

I know I wasn’t always the obedient son I should’ve been by any means, and tried his patience a couple of times, but my Dad was a firm believer in “spare the rod and spoil the child”, and showed me without reservation the consequences of disobedience!  And for that, I am truly grateful.

He showed me many things about life:  how to deal with the ups and downs; how to work hard at all you set your mind to do; why we should be thankful for what we have; and much more that I’ll never forget.  But most importantly as his son, he taught me who God is, and how we can have a relationship with Him through faith in Jesus Christ, His Son.  Now for that I am most grateful!

To think that an extremely ordinary son could become a child of Almighty God is an extraordinary thought!  I not only am privileged to spiritually dwell in the presence of the Creator of the universe, but I possess the right as His redeemed child to cry out to Him in prayer, “Abba, Father”!  What a blessing to know!

I’m forever appreciative to Dad (and Mom) for showing me the way to live, and I’m eternally thankful to my Heavenly Father for saving me from my sins!  Yes, I truly am a grateful son!

Comments on: "A Truly Grateful Son" (3)

  1. Privileged indeed!

  2. Cousin Jan said:

    It’s funny, Mark… I don’t have any memories of your Dad with red hair, so you must’ve started on him pretty early!! Haha.

    Aren’t we fortunate to have such a loving God!! Amen.

  3. Wonderful! Give your Dad a big hug from me! :^)

Leave a comment